Northstar Digital Literacy Project

Northstar Logo

The Northstar Digital Literacy Project defines basic skills needed to perform tasks on computers and online. The ability of adults to perform these tasks can be assessed through online, self-guided modules. Included are basic computer digital literacy standards and modules in six main areas: Basic Computer Use, Internet, Windows Operating System, Mac OS, Email, and Word Processing (Word).

Many ABE programs use the assessments as a means of assessing student progress.

When individuals pass the assessments at approved sites, they can obtain the Northstar Digital Literacy Certificate. This provides a credential for employment. There is no cost to complete the online assessments or to obtain the Certificate.

Learners can access the assessments here. Information for programs interested in information on becoming a Northstar Sponsor Site is available here.

Northstart Digital Literacy Standards (PDF)

ISTE Technology Standards (PDF)

TESOL Technolofy Standards (PDF)